The Flight of Time

B 29 Boeing

 

Wow. I’ve seen a lot of examples of how time flies, but when I checked my blogs and realized I hadn’t posted one since the last week in May I knew I’d really had my wheels up and the flaps straight out in June.

Some of the things going on that caused this breaking the sound barrier to occur had to do with conferences. Not only have I been in charge, more or less, of planning Storytellers of America coming up July16, 17, I decided to take Dusty and Casey up on an invitation to attend Western Writers of America for Oghma Creative Media. I’ve not regretted either decision, but that’s where June went without my noticing it.

It goes without saying that I hate to be out of communication with my readers that long for fear they’ll forget me.

We returned from Wyoming late Monday night after several unusual happenings that weren’t all welcome, but we did come home all in one piece thanks to a couple of emergency hospitals, one in Cheyenne and one in Hays, Kansas. Enough can’t be said for the people at both. Their kindness, helpfulness and support brought us home healthy and happy. No, it wasn’t me who needed them, which was a definite possibility when I agreed reluctantly to accompany my good friends on the trip.

Wyoming and Western Writers of America were both exceptional experiences. I was so pleased to meet one of my favorite authors, Craig Johnson, who writes the Longmire series. What a perfect gentleman and delightful man he is. Not to denigrate others, for there were many western writers there whom I admire. What fun they all were. Some were western ladies, too. With my forgetful brain, it would be a mistake to begin to name all of them, because I’d leave some out, so let’s just say it was a wonderful experience I’ll always remember because of all the super folks we met.

Now, on to Storytellers of America. I’ve been in touch with Crow Johnson several times and she can hardly wait to join us and share her superb talent for creating music. Lisa Wingate is also eager to talk to us about experiences writing her popular inspirational fiction. And Gordon Bonnet is flying down from New York just to be with us. These three stars will only make up some of what’s in store for those attending our first “official” creative conference for Storytellers of America.

Prior to the conference, Oghma Creative Media is sponsoring a three-day authors retreat where we’ll all share with each other and have a great time at gorgeous Sky Vue Lodge on top of the Boston Mountain. I for one am looking forward to both events. It’s time Arkansas had their very own yearly creative gatherings where all the authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, script writing, as well as musicians and artists can get together and share their wealth of knowledge.

For those who haven’t registered yet, there are a few openings. Check us out either on my website or look here or for a glimpse of the lovely locale. Hope to see you there.

A view out over the Boston Mountains, at sunset after an afternoon storm

The view from Sky Vue across the majestic Ozarks

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

