August 12, and I’m just barely sliding in again on my vow to write here every day all month. If things could ever be normal for a writer, then I’m thinking I might be back to that spot. I guarantee it won’t last long. But the email is slogged through, the edits are done, the manuscript mailed off. Time for some fun.

Oops, tomorrow is deadline for my weekly historical article and I haven’t a notion of what to write about. Maybe I’ll use the pin method. Just stick it in something, then write about it. Or perhaps the wagon wheel, where a fellow writes the subject in the center, then begins to write words that come to mind about that subject. Well, that works great for a scene in fiction, but am not sure about nonfiction.

Often interviews form the substance of the article. Don’t have one this week. A partial one on the phone led me down a road that said, make an appointment to talk to this fella some more because he has a lot to tell me. So that will happen next week. Meanwhile, research something and write about it.

After doing this for 18 years, you’d think I could do it in my sleep. Not so, in my sleep, I think of stuff that I’ve already written, or dream up something that’s not suitable for a family newspaper. So, perhaps I can find the background on that little cabin out on the highway that someone recently moved into and refurbished . . . renovated. No, that would call for an interview with the guy and there’s no time left for that.

What do I remember from tales of the past? What might my readers enjoy reading in next week’s paper? Make sure I haven’t written about it in the past four or five years. Readers do change, and many of them are new, but repetition isn’t a good idea, even so.

While waiting for something to hit me upside of the head, I’ll finish this blog and maybe go answer the questions being circulated so I’ll have something interesting to post tomorrow instead of mind wanderings. My other blog on outlaws and lawmen has suffered of late, but if you haven’t taken a look and read some of the exciting tales, perhaps you’d like to. Other blog.

See you there.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in articles, deadlines, history, lawmen, newspapers, outlaws. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Helen Ginger says:

    You led us right to the precipice and didn’t leap. You’ll have to tell us tomorrow what subject you chose.

  2. I’m waiting to hear what it is, too – you sly dog – tee hee. Good writing, as always.

  3. I found an old photo of a man, his family and his white horse. All standing in front of a small log cabin. The picture had been so well balanced, his daughters in white dresses alongside his wife, then himself and his big white horse, that I had to learn more about him. He surely loved that big animal. So I found out who he was, dug through my papers etc., and learned enough about him, the time and the place to fill an article.

  4. zhadi says:

    I used to love writing exercises in school when the teacher would post a picture, usually an old one and have us write a story about it. So many possibilities… Not the same as a non-fiction article, but… that’s what your post made me think of!

Leave a Reply

