CREATING A PROFESSIONAL BLOG…NOT

Sorry I haven’t blogged here in a couple of weeks. Life sort of got out of hand, and chores piled up that had to be done. Know all of you out there will understand that.
So, I’ve been reading all the rules for creating a successful, professional blog and have decided I don’t understand most of them. Turns out I haven’t ever done anything right, as far as the rules go. I’ve never had a Feed Burner or FeedBlitz so that people could subscribe to my blog. Don’t know anything about an RSS feed because I’ve been so busy figuring out what I ought to post that would be helpful to my readers that I didn’t learn how to find or use those. Looks like the folks who provide the blogging space would provide that stuff, since it seems we have to have it.
Okay, I can hear the chatter and tongue clucking already. Why don’t I Google that stuff and learn about it? Well, that’s simple. I’ve spent the last year Googling all the thousands of ways I can promote myself, build a platform, create a brand, make myself visible to the millions of people who prowl the Web day and night…big breath…and sharing what I’ve learned. Fine, getting a proper blog should be a big part of that effort. Sometimes I feel like I’m standing in this hundred-mile-long line waiting to be served.
In an effort to fix this huge error in my education, later this month some of us local writers are attending a conference at the University of Arkansas where we’ll learn how to use WordPress. Ah, a proper blog at last, one would hope.
It isn’t that I don’t know how to write stuff. I’m pretty good at that. And I’ll share anything I learn in a way that makes it easy for others to comprehend. It’s that all this other business defeats me. Go to my website and you’ll see tons of stuff. History, photos, books, chapters, and almost anything you need to know about me. But click on the Blog there and you’ll see one or two futile attempts. Mostly inane subjects I can’t imagine anyone cares about.
Check out my other blogs. I have three including this one here at blogger. Why did I do that? Shoot, who knows? I wanted to separate my historical information from my writer information from a journal of sorts that would just contain random information. Aha, I read somewhere that a blogger should never write random information. We should have a genre for our blog just like we do for our books.
That’s probably where I strayed into trouble. You see, I write in many genres, so it follows I’d do the same with my blogs. Historical nonfiction, biographies, creative nonfiction, essays, western historical romances, horror, paranormal fiction, short stories, newspaper articles, and women’s fiction. Don’t ever do that. Not unless you absolutely can’t help yourself. Do as I say, not as I do because it’ll mess up your writing and your promotion and your branding life forever.
If you don’t believe me, check out my books on my Kindle page or my website,  or my blogs: Historical ; Journal.  Then maybe you’ll be as confused as I am.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CREATING A PROFESSIONAL BLOG…NOT

  1. Duke Pennell says:

    Velda, I look forward to the time I'm only as confused as you are. Thanks for your help.

  2. Russell says:

    Velda, haven't I warned you about the perils of heavy thinking? Sometimes I think people create rules to make THEM look like they know what they're talking about. Take me, for instance. I could write 100 rules about Laziness & Procrastination (if I ever got around to it)but it doesn't make it law. A person could break all of my rules and still be highly effective at laziness.

  3. You two guys made me feel a lot better. I've stumbled around all week. Thanks for the comments.

Leave a Reply

