Those Who Do Often Teach

Kittinger plane

Joe Kittinger biplane

2001-04-02 13.24.02

Just a sample of the images I’ll share

As if I weren’t busy enough writing several books each year and working as distribution director with the new dynamic publishing house, Oghma Creative Media, I’ve signed up this year to hold two classes with Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI), an association connected to the University of Arkansas Fayetteville.

On May 10 and again on May 24 I will direct two hour courses. The first is the History of Drake Field in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Also included in that class will be a history of the Old Pioneer Cemetery, located on the airfield property. The second class is about Men and Their Airplanes and will also include discussion of the many great stories written by Floyd Carl about the Air Museum.

I’m excited about holding these classes, and a bit nervous about using Power Point for the first time. Because I’ve spent 20 years or more holding workshops and speaking at Writer’s conferences, I have no qualms about that. But sit me down with a computer and I’m certainly apt to do something wrong. I’m told there will be someone there to fix any problems I may cause with Power Point, but they don’t know my propensity to foul things up.

Most of my readers are aware that I worked for newspapers for nearly 20 years. The first nine years was spent with The Washington County Observer, a weekly rural paper that was an active successful business for more than 25 years. I spent most of my time interviewing and writing about residents and the history of their families. But I also had the privilege of flying with many of the men who came to Drake Field for the annual airshows. Reporters were always given a free flight and we wrote stories about those men and our experiences in the skies with them.

So I’ve been working for the last few weeks off and on preparing the courses I will present. Now it’s time to get the photos I have in Power Point, and I have to admit I’m nervous. A fellow writer, Jerry Hogan, has offered to help me with this project. In fact, he’s already given me pointers. I’m confident if I run into problems he’ll be on hand to help me fix them.

Adobe assured me it could convert some PDF copies to Power Point. This was less than successful. I spent an afternoon converting four separate pages, but when I looked at them, they had not converted cleanly. There were gaps and spots. The copies are not usable. Jerry was kind enough to see if he could manage to put PDF on Power Point. And he did succeed, so he sent me instructions. Fingers crossed, that will be my project for today.

 My classes, I’m happy to say, will be held at Drake Field in the main airport building. They are scheduled from 2 to 4 p.m. on Tuesday May 10 for The History of Drake Field and the Old Pioneer Cemetery; and Tuesday May 24 for Men and Their Airplanes and a peek at the writings of Floyd Carl. Check OLLI’s website, or email them at olli@uark.edu, or call 479-575-4545 for more information on classes this spring. There are a multitude to choose from. If you don’t care for airplanes or history, there might be something else there you’d like to sign up for.

 Maybe I’ll see you at Drake Field on May 10 or 24.

 

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in airplanes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Those Who Do Often Teach

  1. Dear Velda:
    I’m a pilot myself and am glad to hear you are attempting to share the information.
    If you ask, sometimes, I might tell you some tales of flight that I have encountered.
    Best if luck.
    Jamaes M. Copeland

  2. rgayer55 says:

    This sounds like a great project. Jerry is pretty good at this stuff. He’s a HIC, you know. Historical Investigative Curmudgeon.

Leave a Reply

